This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work.


Dawsons Choir Competition Winners


On Monday 11th January, Rainow Primary School were excited to receive a visit from NMC’s Patron, the Lord Lieutenant of Cheshire Mr David Briggs.

Rainow Primary School won our Dawsons Choir Competition in 2015 and were offered the incredible opportunity of performing at Spirit of Christmas on Friday 27th November in front of an audience of over 950 guests.

It was the first year they had entered the competition, and Music Teacher Mrs Ruddall was absolutely thrilled as well as shocked to win. As well as the honour of performing at our headline fundraising event, which raised over £36,000, they received musical instruments for their school courtesy of Dawsons Music, of which David Briggs is also the Managing Director. They chose xylophones, which will feature in the curriculum for all year groups.

The whole school gathered for an assembly to be presented with the instruments as well as a trophy for their school cabinet, and are eager to start using the xylophones in their music lessons.

Mr Briggs also gave a presentation to the school about his role as the Lord Lieutenant of Cheshire, the work of NMC and his function as Patron.

Huge thanks to Dawsons Music for sponsoring our 6th Choir Competition and to Mr David Briggs for visiting Rainow Primary School and for facilitating this wonderful opportunity. Many congratulations also to the choir for this fantastic achievement.

For information on how your Primary School choir could be in with a chance of performing at this year’s Spirit of Christmas concert at Chester Cathedral on Friday 25th November, please keep an eye on our website for competition information or call the Fundraising Office on 01606 861733.

Pictured is Mr David Briggs, Rainow Primary School Choir, Music Teacher Mrs Alison Ruddall and Headmaster Mr Matthew Gratton-Cash.